Header Image
  • Print
  • Share

Country Profile

Explored and settled by the Spanish in the 16th century, Panama broke with Spain in 1821 and joined the union of Colombia, Ecuador, and Venezuela - named the Republic of Gran Colombia. When the latter dissolved in 1830, Panama remained part of Colombia.  Panama seceded from Colombia in 1903 and promptly signed a treaty allowing for the construction of a canal.  The Panama Canal was built between 1904 and 1914.  The country enjoys economic prosperity as a result of being a major shipping port for North and South American trade. 

  • Capital City: Panama City (-5 GMT)  
  • Currency: Balboa (PAB) 
  • Languages: Spanish (official), English 14%; many Panamanians bilingual  
  • Country Code: 507  
  • Voltage: 110  
  • Religions: Roman Catholic 85%, Protestant 15%  

Cited from: http://globaledge.msu.edu/countries/  


Contact Us
Osmar Echevers
Panama City, Panama
+507 265-5882